The Premier News

ATU Audit Committee Inaugurated

A four-member audit committee authorised to ensure proper and effective financial management practices at Accra Technical University (ATU) was inaugurated at the University’s Council Chamber last Friday.

This deed is in accord with the provisions in Regulation 225 of the Public Financial Management Regulation 2019 (LI 2378), which require that all government institutions establish audit committees.

The brief ceremony was presided over by the Vice-Chancellor of ATU, Prof. Samuel Nii Odai, and attended by some key members of the University Management.

In his opening remarks, the Vice-Chancellor welcomed the attendees on behalf of the Governing Council and expressed gratitude to the Director-General of the Internal Audit Agency for taking the time to officially establish the Committee. The goal of the meeting, according to him, was to inaugurate the reconstituted ATU Audit Committee. He said that the Audit Committee is an important part of the public sector’s governance framework. He eulogised the work of the outgoing Committee, which he said had benefited the University immensely. He added that its work has strengthened internal control procedures, and the University has been more
meticulous with compliance.

On his part, the Director-General of the Internal Audit Agency (IAA), Dr. Eric Oduro Osae, who also administered the oath of office, intimated that serving on the committee is a national duty and advised the committee members to bring to bear their expertise in the fiscal growth of the University. He charged members to collaborate with the Internal Audit Directorate to provide direct advisory services to Management in order to prevent pitfalls.

He encouraged the committee to be urgent in submitting its semiannual and annual reports on its work. He further tasked the Management to implement recommendations from the Auditor General and also implement enterprise risk management.

The Committee is chaired by Mr. Anthony Adomako Nimo, Internal Audit Agency Rep; the other members are Madam Ernestina O. Djanortey; Institute of Chartered Accountants Ghana Rep, Mrs. M.N.A. Offei-Koranteng; IAA Rep, and Mr. David Ayisala, a Council member. Madam Akua Afriyie Appiah is Secretary to the Committee

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on telegram


Subscribe to our Newsletter

Connect with us


A Technical University of global excellence in competency based and practice-oriented training, applied research and technology transfer.

© 2021 Accra Technical University, Barnes Road, Accra, Ghana. Digital Address: GA-106-2535.  Call: +233 33 209 5371 / +233 54 326 4917. Email: