New Accra Technical University Governing Council Inaugurated

Government has inaugurated a new Governing Council for Accra Technical University on Thursday, 23rd September, 2021. The 18-member Council, is to be chaired by Dr. Wilfred Kwabena Anim-Odame.

The swearing-in of the Council follow the expiration of the tenure of the old Council on 31st May,

The Minister for Education, Dr. Yaw Osei Adutwum who inaugurated the Council in Accra at a short ceremony, while extoling the new Council as the best technical university council, urged the members to ensure that they work together to the benefit of the university.

He added that the new Council must endeavour to consolidate the gains made by the University in the past and better position it as a world-class institution of higher learning. He entreated the university and the newly-constituted Council to be inventive with programmes and courses that particularly caters to skilled persons in the informal sector.

The education minister further bemoaned the low numbers the university records in its Engineering programme. He attributed the trend to the unattractive Bachelor of Technology (BTech) label which according to him, prospective applicants are not interested in. To help shore up an increase, he said he has ‘‘directed that GTEC works on that immediately and offer you the opportunity to run Bachelor of Science in Engineering programmes’’ this he added will further attract prospective students a great deal.

The chairman of the Council in his acceptance speech on behalf of the Council thanked the Hounourable Minister and the President for trusting and giving them the opportunity to serve. He assured the Minister that they will endeavor to work hard to make ATU significantly contribute to the socio-economic development of the country.

Government has four representatives on the Council; Dr. Wilfred Kwabena Anim-Odame, Assoc. Prof. Salome O. Essuman, Mr. Kingsford Daniel Laryea and Prof. Kojo Danuor. The others on the council are included in the list below:

1Prof. Samuel Nii OdaiVice-Chancellor
2Mr. Emmanuel Budu AddoGTEC
3Engr. Dr. Stephen TurksonCTVET
4Mr. Tsonam Cleanse AkpelooAssociation of Ghana Industries (AGI)
5Mrs. Cynthia Obuo NtiCHASS
6Mr. Daniel OsabuteyConvocation (Teaching)
7Mr. Francis GyeduConvocation (Non-teaching)
8Dr. Ibrahim ZubairuTeaching Staff Association
9Mr. Philip Akumasi AgalisiSenior Staff Association
10Mr. Adam B.Z. AsieduJunior Staff Association
11Mr. Desmond BoatengSRC
12Mr. David AyisalaAlumni
13Mr. Alex FrimpongGhana Employers Association
14Mr. Isaac AmponsahAssociation of Principals of Technical Institutes

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *