Newly-Elected Executives of TUSAAG-ATU Assume Office

The Accra Technical University (ATU) Chapter of the Technical University Senior Administrators Association of Ghana (TUSAAG) has held its handing over and swearing-in ceremony of newly elected executives at the ATU Lodge conference room on Tuesday 18th May 2021.

In attendance were the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Samuel Nii Odai, the PRO Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Amevi Acakpovi, the Registrar, Mrs Sylvia B. Oppong Mensah and other key officers of the university and some representatives from sister unions.

Prof. Samuel Nii Odai, who was the guest of honour and also the guest speaker in his speech, congratulated the outgoing executives on a good job done. He advised the incoming executives to follow the path of their predecessors and ensure the welfare of their members. He tasked the new executives to constantly interact with the old executives to share ideas and not hesitate to constructively point out Management’s flaws for a better ATU.  Prof Odai further implored them to impact the community with their activities.

The outgoing Chairman, Apostle Prosper Agumey, in his speech, thanked the members for believing in him and his team. He wished the incoming president and executives the very best in their new roles. He further thanked TUSAAG national executives for supporting them. He revealed that by the end of his tenure of office, the TUSAAG ATU Chapter membership had doubled from 22 to 44 members. Additionally, he tasked the incoming executives to be eager to attend emergency meetings at the national level as that will help the chapter grow.

The incoming Chairman, Mr Dominic Ampah, in his acceptance speech, thanked the members for trusting him and his team. He showed appreciation to the former executives and congratulated them on their achievements. He pledged to work hard with his team to solve the challenges facing the union and collaborate with sister unions on campus to bring policies and beneficial ideas to their members. 

Acting Director of Legal Affairs, Ms Essa Elorm Acolatse officiated the swearing-in. The newly elected executives are Mr Dominic Ampah (Chairman), Madam Fausta Killian Ganaa (Vice-Chairperson), Madam Sylvia E. Sackey (Secretary), Princess W. Ahorlu (Financial Secretary), Ida Aba Blankson (Organising Secretary) and Manasseh A. Sugarthan (Press Secretary).

The Registrar, Mrs Sylvia Oppong-Mensah, in her closing remarks, applauded the former executives for their work done and encouraged the new executives to tap into the experience of the old executives. She intimated the doors of Management were opened and available to all unions. She thanked all the members that played a role in organising the successful event.

Some representatives from sister unions like TUTAG, TEWU, TUAG and POWAG expressed their goodwill messages to the new executives and pledged their support to them.

By: Directorate of Public Affairs

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *