Vice-Chancellor Commences Listening and Assessment Tour of Faculties

The Vice-Chancellor (striped tie) in a group photograph with his entourage and some Senior Members of the Faculty of Business

On Monday, August 17, 2020, the Vice-Chancellor of Accra Technical University, Prof. Samuel Nii Odai and his entourage of Directors, Heads of Departments (HODs), and other senior administrators began an assessment tour and interaction forum – beginning with the Faculty of Business – one year after his investiture.

The Dean of the Faculty of Business, Mr Peter Arhenful (PhD), led the Vice-Chancellor and his entourage on a guided tour to the four academic departments of the faculty; Accountancy and Finance, Management and Public Administration, Procurement and Supply Chain Management, and Marketing to afford him a first-hand assessment of the departments’ spaces and furnishing.

Following the tour, the Vice-Chancellor together with his entourage met the Heads of Departments and Senior Members of the faculty at the University Auditorium to listen, share knowledge, and address their concerns. As part of the challenges bedevilling the faculty, the Dean appealed for the construction of a Faculty of Business complex to house all the four academic departments currently scattered on various parts of campus in one building.

Addressing this infrastructural need, the Vice-Chancellor added that the Governing Council has approved for the procurement of buses and other vehicles to transport students and staff from the Tudu campus to the new ultramodern Mpehuasem campus in Samsam. He also outlined plans for the University to construct a professional studio for recording lecturers’ presentation for dissemination online to complement in-class teaching.

The Vice-Chancellor furthermore hinted the commencement of face-to-face tuition from Monday, August 24, 2020, with examination anticipated to start in September.

The interaction session is expected to continue with the remaining faculties in the coming days.

The Faculty of Business

The Faculty of business is one of the five University faculties. It comprises four academic departments namely; Accountancy and Finance, Management and Public Administration, Procurement and Supply Chain Management, and Marketing. Currently, the Faculty runs Diploma, Higher National Diploma, and Bachelor of Technology programmes.

By: Directorate of Public Affairs

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *